Whenever you get a new PC, it can be a lengthy process to personalize it just the way you like. Sync your settings in Windows 10 allows some of the common personalization preferences to be synced to the cloud and applied to any PC you sign in to with your Microsoft account. By letting Windows 10 sync your settings, you can have a more consistent experience no matter which device you happen to be using.

What does it sync?

In Windows 10 you can sync many of your personalization settings. This includes your Windows theme (wallpaper, color, etc.), passwords saved in Microsoft Edge, language preferences, and Ease of Access settings. 

Depending on the type of device you’re signing in to, Windows can also sync things like mouse or printer settings. Windows can also sync other types of info between devices.

Cloud clipboard is a new feature in Windows 10 that allows you to copy text or an image to the clipboard on one of your devices and paste it on another device. Go to Cloud clipboard to learn more. Looking to sync documents and pictures across your devices? Head to Secure Cloud Storage to learn more about OneDrive.

Sync your settings options

 

How to use Sync your settings in Windows 10

Sync your settings is included in Windows 10. You must be signed in to Windows with a Microsoft account for this feature to work.

If an error appears on the Sync your settings screen (“Your passwords won’t sync until you verify your identity on this device”), know that this is a security feature designed to protect your credentials. A code will be sent to your alternate email address or phone number that’s associated with your account to verify your identity before you can sync passwords. 

For additional help signing into a Microsoft account on Windows 10, there are support articles to assist you. 

To turn individual items on or off to sync them, type Sync your settings in Windows search, then select Open.

Sync your settings

This is also where you can verify whether or not the Sync your settings feature is already turned on or not. 

Sync your settings on off

You’ll see five options that you can turn on or off.

Theme
This includes desktop wallpaper, window colors, sounds, and your mouse cursor. Most people notice when their desktop wallpaper syncs across their devices, cursor customizations such as making the cursor larger or a different color will sync as well.

Passwords
When you have your password set to sync, it will include the items in your Windows credentials manager. It will also sync wireless networks you have connected to in the past and saved the password for. This means that if you visit a location with a device you have your passwords synced to, it will automatically connect provided you’ve connected to a different device before.

Language preferences
Spelling dictionary and system language settings are included in this section. If, for example, you’ve added a word to your dictionary, the change will be saved into any PC you sign in to.

Ease of Access
Any accessibility settings you have set up will be synced to all your devices. For example, if you have Narrator set to turn on when you sign in to your computer, that behavior will exist on any device you sign in to. Your on-screen keyboard and magnifier settings will also be included in this option.

Other Windows settings
This includes shared printers you’ve connected to as well as a list of all apps you’ve installed. It can be common for settings to take some time to sync. Most items should sync immediately or within a few minutes, such as your desktop wallpaper. Items like Microsoft Edge favorites and passwords may sync in batches and may take up to two days to fully sync so don’t worry if some show up at first while others haven’t.

Syncing = consistency
By syncing your settings with a Microsoft account, you can have a consistent experience across your devices. You’ll save time by not having to manually personalize your device every time you sign in to a new one, and in the event you have to reset your computer because of an unforeseen issue, you can rest easy knowing that many of your settings automatically load back on to your device without any effort on your part.